Photo Friday: Home

A week or so ago I went wandering around Downtown with my camera and snapped a few pictures of the scenery. I love the sights here: the colors, the textures, the views! Everything is a lovely contradiction: it’s warm and cold (the wind), bright and muted, home and foreign. Things here are bright and colorful, the green is the greenest green I’ve ever seen and the sunshine is a warm buttery yellow, until you move closer to the water and then the air turns silvery grey and the colors mute themselves in reverence to the color spectrum of the sea. The sun is hot and warm against your skin, but the wind off the water is strong and almost lifts you into the air and makes you wish you’d remembered your sweater. And the buildings and facades are things you’ve seen all your life (if you’ve lived here all your life, like me anyway) but their construction is reminiscent of a bygone time and a country across the sea. This place, my home, makes me smile; we know exactly how and what we are, we’re everything that ever was and will ever be and we’d happily eat seafood with every meal!

What about y’all? What sights and colors remind you of home? Do you see boats everyday? Fields of grass? Or a jungle of buildings and bright lights? 😀

Mystical, fairy-tale stairs leading down to the water…I’d like to think so.

8 thoughts on “Photo Friday: Home

  1. I grew up in Connecticut, so this season always makes me think of home, and how beautiful all the trees are back there. Even just the smell of autumn makes me a little nostalgic.

    Great pics!

  2. No sea here, but plenty of grass and changing trees. This time of year sweet potato pie reminds me of autumn. Mom usually makes a bunch this time of year…getting hungry…

    • I’ve always loved living by the sea, I love the sound of splashing water (though I’m not overly fond of the beach, go figure lol). But I imagine living in the city would be exciting! I want to go to New York one day and see all the Broadway musicals 😀

Comments make my day more sparkly!

