It’s Not Even December Yet!

It’s almost that time of year and it’s not even December yet! The nauseating, endless loop of Christmas carols are already annoying the heck out of hard-working people who deserve to have the remainder of November be carol-free (is it too much to ask…really?) and surprise surprise, Christmas trees are already being sold in nearly every parking lot/empty space by the side of the road. I’m not a holiday-hater or anything but I do find it…odd, when people start gearing up for a holiday that isn’t even in the same month that we’re in now. I don’t start unpacking my Halloween stuff in August or my Easter stuff in January but maybe that’s just me. In my family there was no hint of Christmas in the air until December 1st and then and only then, did we dig in the hall closet for the ancient bag of ornaments and put up our tree (sadly we switched to a plastic tree sometime in my late teens, I’ll write more on my discontent concerning fake trees in a later blog). The tree (and any other decorations) stays in the living room until January 1st and then that bad boy is packed away and stored until December 1st rolls back around and we start the whole process over again.

I only mention this because over the weekend my best friend and I made a trip to Barnes and Noble (cue Heavenly music and random beams of light) and passed by a Christmas tree selling place/thing and since my friend knew the people running it we stopped in for a chat. I was surprised at how many families bought trees in the short fifteen minutes span that we were there and I couldn’t help but wonder why in the world they were buying their trees so soon? It doesn’t seems like the winter holiday season until December and yet people were dragging trees home left and right and it was still only November! Why are they doing this?! By starting this early you’re making the countdown to presents even longer and that just makes no sense! When I start counting down, I have twenty-five days until the boxes tormenting me under the tree are free-game and the brightly colored wrapping paper goes flying, but if you start decorating and preparing before December then you have more days to have to wait,  count down, and cross off the calendar! (I know it all adds up to being the same amount of time, but it’s a mindset thing and you’re just making it seem like Christmas is farther away and I don’t see how that helps anything or anyone.)

But my personal ranting aside, I do love the time of year that is almost upon us and seeing and smelling all the trees made me feel like I was five years old again. Well, except for the fact that I’m almost as tall as the trees now but that’s beside the point. There really is something magical about being inside a massive tent and surrounded by enormous trees; it’s like you’re in a forest or a labyrinth that smells like sticky sap and all that’s missing is snow. (Sadly the only snow that’s going to be on these trees comes from a spray-can.) I admit that I enjoyed being swallowed up and lost inside the rows and rows of trees and that I could see how the excitement of the moment might entice someone to buy a tree early (not me, but someone). I forgive you early buyers thought I still maintain that you should try to hold out for December. However, there is no excuse for the Christmas music taking over the radio stations already, that needs to be held off until the week before Christmas so people don’t go nutty listening to the same songs over and over again!

I can still smell the sap just looking at this picture!

What about y’all, do you start the holidays early or do you hold out for December? When does it start feeling like the holidays for you? And Christmas carols: love ’em or no?

12 thoughts on “It’s Not Even December Yet!

  1. I thought I was the only one who heard the heavenly music and saw light from heaven when I went into B&N. Good to know, I’m not TOTALLY crazy. I love the magic of Christmas. I HATE THE COMMERICALISM!! And the christmas movies…?Very bad acting. But the food (insert toothy grin here) 😀 Christmas ain’t all bad.

  2. Perhaps it’s all part of a ‘phase in,’ a process that says, ‘hey you procrastinating fool, get your missus her gifts on time this year.’ I’m referring to myself, of course, but have a slight feeling that…ummm…there may be others out there who could use a gentle push. Christmas music in November is just barely annoying enough to do that; sort of like a best friend who won’t keep nagging you.

  3. I love the holidays because it makes me think of all the fun times I’ve had with the whole family getting together, time off work, playing lots of card games and eating. Nowadays I can’t take Christmas off work and my family is kind of scattered, but I still get nostalgic. I actually like the carols, too, but only the old-style ones, none of these new super whiny songs. And I totally agree with RBH – I really don’t like how commercialized the holidays have become. Still, everytime I walk by a house decked out in christmas lights it makes my heart feel warm and happy. 🙂

    • I love the holidays too, especially the lights! There’s just something breathtakingly magical about Christmas lights 😀 And you’re right, the old carols are the best, though I do like the Celtic Woman and Andrea Bocelli versions as well. I’m sorry that you can’t take Christmas off from work though, but I hope you have a lovely, family-filled holiday anyway! 😀

  4. We start early! I put up the Christmas tree at my boyfriend’s the weekend after Thanksgiving, by now all the lights are up and everything. I like starting it early, because it all goes by so fast.

  5. My family usually puts up our tree the Saturday after Thanksgiving. Which I guess is still November, but doesn’t seem super early to me. I liked your post. And I totally agree about the Christmas carols. I feel bad for the retail workers who have to listen to the same cds on a loop for the entire season.

    • I’m glad you liked the post 😀 I feel bad for the retail workers, or really anyone who has to listen to the same songs for the next month, as fun as they are at times. I’ve discovered that many people (many more than I thought) start Christmas in November, lol, and that my family is the exception, not the rule (as they would say in He’s Just Not That Into You LOL). 😀 Maybe I’ll try an early Christmas one year…

Comments make my day more sparkly!

