The Next Big Thing…

The lovely ladies over at Mystic Cooking tagged me in The Next Big Thing yesterday (thank you ladies!) and after I finished squealing with delight and smiling like a crazy person, I realized that it meant I would have to describe my novel…and then I was a bit torn lol. I am by nature a secretive writer, no one sees anything I’ve written until I say so and I’ve had to chase away my brother a time or two when I caught him reading over my shoulder while I was typing. I don’t know why…it’s just who I am; call it mistrustful, insecure, or whatever but I guard my laptop like a fiend. That being said, I think it’s about time the world gets a little peek into a world that I love with all of my heart. I hope you enjoy…

What is the working title of your book?

The title of my novel is Believe.

Where did the idea for the book come from?

I actually don’t remember! I’ve had the idea and the characters in my head since I was thirteen and I think I dreamed about them or something first but it was so long ago that I don’t actually remember what made me think of this story, lol.

What genre does your book fall under?

Fantasy

What actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

Calahada (Hada for short):

Image From Google

I have the hardest time casting Hada, there isn’t anyone I know of that looks enough like her, and I know that sounds so pretentious and stuck-up but I don’t mean it that way, honestly. I’ve just had this picture in my head for eight years and there is no one who really jumps out at me and screams: I am Calahada! But, for the sake of this post I will do my best and select someone so you can get a general idea. After hours of deliberating (and some help) I think Gemma Arterton is the best choice. She resembles her a bit and I think she is capable of portraying the different emotional and physical changes that Hada endures over the course of the story. The character of Calahada changes drastically over the course of Believe, starting out a relatively happy, stable young woman who later succumbs to an overwhelming grief that whittles her away to practically nothing emotionally and physically before finally coming back to life wielding a sword and ready to defend her right to love the man that she does. There’s such a mixture of strength and fragility within her that truly inspires me.

Mytheous (Myth):

This isn’t the actual picture I used but it’s close!
Image From Google

This one was much easier to cast, thankfully! When I was writing Believe, I made background posters on my computer for inspiration and one of the pictures I used was Garrett Hedlund in Eragon, he had the right coloring (sort of) and I loved the leather vest he was wearing. It wasn’t until later when my mother (who was my first reader) and I were discussing who would be a good fit for Myth that she pointed out that the guy on my computer screen was almost perfect. I didn’t agree with her at first (I had only used the picture for the clothes and the feel, not the actual guy), but after thinking about it for a few days, I had to agree that there was no one better that I could think of. Mytheous (to me) is such a sweetheart; he’s kind, loving, hot-tempered, and absolutely determined to love Hada no matter what anyone says.

Elithium (El):

Image From Google

El was another hard one to cast, but that’s purely because his features (hair/eye color) are hard to pin down. Elithium is Hada’s best friend and he truly knows her better than anyone; he’s a bit of a mother-hen but that just adds to his lovability.  When Hada is all but lost in her despair and grief (and then the anger that follows), he is the only one (who knows the truth) who can reach her. He is willing to risk his life to protect his best friend and it’s his devotion and love that make him who he is. After watching Lost In Austen, I think Tom Mison could pull off El’s sweet-nature, though he might have to drop Bingley’s “blond”-moments (as I call them) as Elithium is sharp and watchful and slightly less head-in-the-clouds-ish as Mr. Bingley.

Eelisha:

Image From Google

Ah Eelisha, tricky…so very tricky. Eelisha is supposed to be devastatingly gorgeous, vain, highly possessive, and very, very jealous. She has that look, that haughty you’re-so-far-beneath-me-I- can’t-be-bothered-to-notice-you-other-than-to-make-my-revulsion-for you-known-because-I-want-you-to-know-it’s-me-who’s-making-your-life-miserable look. You know, that look. When I think of Emmy Rossum, I immediately think of the Phantom of the Opera and how sweet/clueless Christine is but I think she has the potential to be a very effective villainess, just check out the trailer for Beautiful Creatures if you don’t believe me!

What is the one sentence synopsis of your book?

Sigh…I hate synopsis’s, I’m no good at them. This will probably come out sounding contrived and cliché. I apologize.

Death awaits Mytheous and Calahada after they fall in love in a realm where love is bound and constrained by rules dictated by an ancient prejudice; the two are determined to prove that love is more powerful than any law, though the cost may be more than they realized as they discover their fear of death pales in the face of agonizing pain.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

I would prefer it be represented by an agency and I’m currently looking into finding an agent who will love Believe as much as I do!

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

That’s a hard question. Like I said, I’ve had this story in my head since I was thirteen and I did start writing it back then but the disk I was writing it on got lost during a move and I didn’t pick the story up again until I was (late) sixteen I think. My writing teacher was making us do NaNoWriMo, so I figured it was the perfect time to try the story a second time. I wrote a lot that year (my senior year of high school) and I continued to write when I was in college though I only worked on the manuscript on holiday and summer breaks. The summers of my sophomore and junior college years are when I wrote the most I think and I finished Believe the summer before senior year. So you can say it took me eight years, five years (if you go by my starting over in high school), or something less than that considering I only wrote for four months out of the year for three years. I don’t really know how to answer this one 😀

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

I have no idea! 😀  The people I’ve had read the manuscript says it reminds them of Juliet Marillier’s Sevenwater’s series and Catherine Asaro’s Lost Continent Series. That’s a mighty big compliment (for me at least), and I’d be happy to think my book is anything like theirs!

Who or what inspired you to write this book?

The characters are my inspiration. They had a story to tell and I wanted to badly to tell it. My mother also kept me going because she was so excited to read the novel once it was done, I knew I had to keep writing no matter what!

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

 Hmm, well I guess if you haven’t already figured out by the genre and the odd names, this book is set in the past and there are quite a few surprises to be found lurking within the pages that I hope you will enjoy (I can’t tell you anymore or I’ll give things away!). Also, this book is the first in what’s looking like a very long series, so there are many more adventures to be had and new characters to meet! I also make a playlist for every novel and if anyone is interested in getting a feel for the story before you read it, let me know in the comments and I’ll list a few of the most influential songs 😀

 And in the interest of keeping this going…

I always enjoy reading these blogs, so I’m tagging:

The Spidereen Frigate

and

Through Two Blue Eyes

28 thoughts on “The Next Big Thing…

  1. Great post! Both your story and your characters sound really developed and intriguing. Are you entering this story into pitchwars?

    It’s funny how hard it is to find actors and actresses who fit your image. It took is several days, but it was a lot of fun. I would be really interested in seeing the actress from Phantom of the Opera play that kind of role. 🙂

    • Thank you! I actually only recently heard about pitchwars, I don’t really know what it is but I plan on looking into it. And yes, it is hard, I mean I already had some characters matched up with actors and actresses but there are quite a few that just stump me, lol. 😀

  2. Just one thing: a good editor is better than gold. There’s nothing wrong with sharing your ideas or even a draft with those you’ve come to trust. Chances are they will find things you’ve missed, create insights that may be invisible to you…

    • Oh I know, but that’s the thing, I really have to trust the person I let read my material before it’s published. The feedback I’ve recieved on my novel has opened my eyes to the things I missed while writing and the things I needed to explain better, and it was nice hearing other people’s perspectives. 😀

  3. Aw dang. Now I have to find pictures of actors that will represent my characters? Oh, sweet, merciful heavens.

    Thanks for tagging me! And I’m super excited about your book, now. I have a WIP that’s been around since I was 13, too, but that’s not the one I’m actively working right now. I’m so glad I’m not the only one with some crazy, ancient plot line. 😛

    • I know what you mean, it took me a while to find the right pictures, even after I picked the right actors and actresses lol. I don’t envy the casting people on movie sets.

      You’re welcome and thank you as well! We ‘crazy, ancient plot line’ people have to stick together lol. I hope you have as much fun answering the questions as I did! 😀

  4. Pingback: Mini Celebration « Mystic Cooking

  5. Pingback: Time for the monthly wrap-up « Mystic Cooking

  6. Sounds like an interesting read! 😀 And I totally understand what you mean about finding it scary to share. Right now my brother is the first reader and I have a couple of other beta readers. But they can only see it after I’ve gone over the stuff with my brother.

      • You’re welcome. And are totally right, brothers are the best beta readers. 😀 I love mine. All his insights have been spot on.

        It is fun because he is an artist. So I help him with his classes and figuring out what to draw/ paint and with color mixes. It is cool that we can help each other out.

      • That’s awesome! My brother loves to draw as well, though I don’t think I’ve ever seen him paint, lol. I love him like crazy, I got the biggest kick out of watching him read a section of Believe and crack up laughing because he found a random word he thought was funny (I think it was pudgy). Ever since then he always tells me I have the best word choice and it just makes me smile. 😀

  7. Pingback: Mythic Snow « moonstonemaiden

  8. Pingback: Unsigned Letters: Volume 1 Letter 4 « moonstonemaiden

  9. Pingback: A Sound of Beauty | moonstonemaiden

  10. Pingback: The Ice Queen | moonstonemaiden

  11. Pingback: The Best Of Romance: Love, Passion, And Desire | moonstonemaiden

  12. Pingback: Unsigned Letters: Volume 1 Letter 4 | moonstonemaiden

  13. Pingback: Loving Those Epic Romances! | moonstonemaiden

  14. Pingback: The Water Maiden: A Realm of Light Short Story | moonstonemaiden

Comments make my day more sparkly!

