Gandalf And Gollum And Hobbits, Oh My!

It’s hard to feel like Christmas is literally next week when it’s 80 degrees outside, but I’ve got my fingers crossed for at least a relatively cool Christmas day! There’s no use in hoping for a white Christmas where I live because if it ever snowed more than a few evanescent flurries here, something would be terribly terribly wrong. Panic would ensue, people would start hording water and batteries, and the whole honey-baked ham/unwrapping presents/generally pleasantness of a family day full of squeals and squabbling would be lost and I’m just not up for missing out on the honey-baked ham. I wait all year for this ham… So needless to say, I’ll settle for a balmy breeze and leave the snow to my Northern neighbors (who are better equipped to handle winter’s icy wrath). But anyway, I truly meant to post more than one post last week (honest) but between an unholy/ slightly demonic stomach virus/flu-thing  that left me rather er… incapacitated for a few days (i.e. chained to the bathroom) and attempted Christmas shopping, I got rather behind.  My bad 😀

Anyway, I say attempted shopping instead of actual shopping because although I set out with a purchase in mind, and a coupon at the ready, I returned home present-less.  *Sad face* I’m one of those people who doesn’t go shopping until I’ve looked online for what I want to buy, found the price, looked for a coupon if there’s one available, grumbled if there isn’t a coupon, and confirmed that whatever I want is in stock at the store I’m going to. I’ve arrived at stores too many times with enthusiasm and hopefulness in full gear only to discover that whatever I wanted was not in the store, so now I CHECK! So all this in mind, I set out to buy my bestie’s Christmas present (the Thomas Kinkade Disney Calendar for 2013) and after circling and combing through the calendar section enough times to attract attention from my fellow shoppers I decided to just go have a store clerk locate the item. I was pleased (if not surprised) when he confirmed that yes the calendar was in stock and waited patiently as he went in search of it. Fifteen minutes later he returned crestfallen to announce that the calendar was nowhere to be found…sigh. It’s sad when the computer knows an item is in the store, a worker has admittedly seen the item in the store, and yet it cannot be found. Oh well, bestie will just have to settle for ordering it herself online (because I hate ordering things online) or picking a different calendar. Who knew calendars were such a popular gift?!

There was an up-side to the whole shopping debacle however, not only did I get to spend an hour in my most favorite store ever (Barnes and Noble), but I also came across the cutest little Hobbit-themed dolls!

Gandalf the Grey

and…

Gollum and Bilbo

Gandalf is my favorite of course! I haven’t seen the Hobbit yet, as I’m planning on waiting until Les Miserables comes out so I can see both of them at once, but I am so very excited! I just hope these new ones blend in visually with the previous ones because I adore the Lord of the Rings (extended versions) and it would annoy me when I do a movie marathon if there was too much of a discrepancy (though really, it’s more of my favorite characters so I doubt I’m going to be complaining, lol).

And before I go, I am tickled to announce that I was nominated for the REALITY blog award by my favorite blogging duo: Mystic Cooking! Thank you so much Katie and Heidi, y’all are the best and you truly made my day!

realityblogaward

The Rules:

  1. Display the award logo on your blog.
  2. Link back to the person who nominated you.
  3. Answer the questions.
  4. Pass the award onto to any other bloggers you want — and link to one of their specific posts so that they get notified by ping back

If you could change something what would you change? Nothing. I may not have liked everything in my life but it’s made me who I am today and I’m trying to be content and happy with myself and my life.

If you could relive one day, when would it be?

One day of my life or any day?! Hmm, I would relieve the day my entire family went to Disney when I was six because that’s one of the few memories I have where all of us (grandparents, aunts, uncles, cousins etc.) were together and happy. And any day: that’s such a hard question for a history nut, I don’t know…but I’ve always wanted to see ancient Troy, but you know, not the day it fell or anything.

What’s one thing that really scares you?

The thought of losing someone I love.

What one dream have you not completed yet, and do you think you will be able to complete it?

Being published! And heck yes, I plan on completing it! 😀

If you could be someone else for a day, who would you be?

Maybe one of my characters…though it would need to be a calm day or something because my characters tend to have dangerous and busy lives…

I hereby optionally pass this award onto:

BecomingEllipsisMark

and

darksilvertree

Thank y’all again, and I promise to post more this week (you know, barring a return from the stomach flu from hell or anything else that might put a damper on my desire to write)! But before I go…are any of you going to see/have seen the Hobbit?! Was it good? Let me know, but please no spoilers (and yes, I’ve read the book so really how much can be spoiled, but you know what I mean, lol)! And how’s holiday shopping going for you guys? Fun-filled or fiasco?

7 thoughts on “Gandalf And Gollum And Hobbits, Oh My!

  1. Cute dolls…. and The Hobbit is completely worth the wait!
    Thanks for nominating me, now if only I can manage to post without somehow messing it up. lol

  2. The Gandolf doll is adorable!

    I’m sorry you weren’t feeling well, and I hope whatever you had is all gone now. I haven’t seen the Hobbit yet, but the holiday season is still young. If you see it before I do, let me know if it lives up to your expectations. 🙂

    • Thank you, I’m feeling much better!

      I thought the doll was the cutest thing ever, but I’m a sucker for things like that, lol. And I haven’t seen the movie yet either, but I should be going Saturday to see it and I will definitely let you know if I liked it or not! 😀

Comments make my day more sparkly!

