Downton Abbey, Les Miserables, And Happy Memories

Hello my lovelies, I hope you’re all having a wonderful Tuesday. Today’s been peaceful and quiet but I’m looking forward to tomorrow when my bestie and I high-tail it over to the store so I can grab the third season of my new favorite TV show Downton Abbey on DVD. Oh I sense another Downton marathon coming my way this weekend! *Happy sigh* I was going to be the good girl and wait until the entire season had played out on PBS before buying it but my mom said she couldn’t wait until March to see all that was going on this season. She has no patience for things like this, and in all honesty I don’t either. I’d rather watch something when I want to then have to worry about remembering to sit down at a specific time each week. But anyway, now I don’t have to feel guilty zooming through the entire season in two days nor do I have to suffer through the next month waiting to see how things turn out! 😀

Image From Google

Image From Google

This past weekend was filled with packing for me for our upcoming move. I don’t know about you guys but I absolutely loathe packing, it takes forever and I’m just not good at it. I’m more of a un-packer and a room decorator. I like to tinker and spend time putting things in their place and making a room look pretty and inviting but I have no skill in consolidating a lifetime’s worth of items into cardboard boxes. I’m a bit of a pack-rat and that comes back to bite me in the rear when it comes time to move. Though there are a few perks of sorting through all my old stuff. Every now and then I come across things that are so jam-packed with memories I can’t help but sit back and bask in the remembering. Sunday I found such a keepsake, a book my mother gave me when she told me I would soon have a little brother.

This book helped me learn how to be a big sister!

It’s cute as all get out and it means the world to me. It’s about a little girl who takes care of her doll, Baby Dear, alongside her mother who is caring for the girl’s new baby sister. All in all it glorifies the awesomeness of being a big sister and I know it made me feel very helpful and even more excited than I already was when my little brother arrived. It’s a book I will treasure my whole life and finding it once again just made me smile and remember how thankful I am to be a big sister.

Isn’t it adorable!

And speaking of memories, I forgot to tell you guy’s about seeing Les Miserables! The bestie, Mom, and I went three weeks ago and finally saw it and it was AWESOME! I was surprised my Mom agreed to go and was excited as she was considering her reluctance to watch new musicals since the whole RENT debacle. But I pestered her about it long enough and as soon as she saw the first preview she started to get excited, and by the time we went to the theaters, all three of us were chomping at the bit to see the glory that is Les Mis. And it didn’t disappoint…much. The first hour was amazing, it made all of us weep (loudly) and that’s saying something because for years I was convinced by best friend was part cyborg or something because she NEVER cries at anything. I find it unnatural, but then I cry at the drop of a hat, so I guess we make a good contrast.

Image From Google

Image From Google

So there the three of us were near sobbing at the woes of gentle Fantine and finding ourselves surprised by Russell Crowe’s excellent portrayal of Javert (I wasn’t sure he could pull it off but he did!) when I started to notice something was amuck. I won’t give away any spoilers just in case y’all have yet to see it, but to suffice it to say, if you’re a fan of Eponine (she’s my favorite Les Mis character)…prepare yourself. Not that Samantha Barks does a bad portrayal or anything, she doesn’t; she’s actually my favorite Eponine ever and starred in the wonderful 25th Anniversary Concert Edition, which I highly recommend you guys watch. But the writers did some creative work on the younger cast that my bestie and I did not appreciate and this included some changes to Eponine’s story. And I’m sorry movie-makers, but the songs go in a specific order for a reason, when you mix them up it loses some of the effect. But other than that, the movie was fantastic. I can’t wait to buy it when it comes out, but I will still love the concert version for showing what I think is the better story…in a sense.

Image From Google

Image From Google

So what about y’all are there any TV shows you’re in love with at the moment, maybe Downton Abbey? What about precious keepsakes, are there things that bring back happy memories? And what about Les Miserables, did you guys like it; what was your favorite song and who’s your favorite character? (On My Own & Eponine!)

10 thoughts on “Downton Abbey, Les Miserables, And Happy Memories

  1. Good luck with the move, I loathe packing as well and moved just before Christmas, not the most brilliant idea.
    I am still waiting to see Les Miserables so at this rate it might end up being a DVD thing for me because I couldn’t go the night everyone else went and saw it , oh well I save on the ticket I guess and can put that money to just buying the DVD which I was planning to anyway 😀

    • Thanks 😀 You can always check out the concert edition while you wait for the DVD, it’s on youtube. Though, if you don’t know the story, it might be a bit confusing because the whole play isn’t being acted out as normal, it’s more about the songs. But if you love the music, this version is great and I think it has the best singers playing the characters! 😀

    • I know what you mean. I don’t have the ability to rhyme that easily though, so I’m pretty much limited to just singing their songs, lol. At one point I had “One Day More” stuck in my head playing nonstop for two weeks, every time it ended it would restart, and it scared the heck out of me. After that, I was glad to not live inside a musical and have to worry about singing all the time, lol 😀

  2. I still haven’t seen the Les Mis movie, but I really want to. Eponine was always my favorite character when I listened to the musical, and I’m a bit skeptical of them changing her story.

    I totally know how you feel about packing, but I’m also no good at unpacking either. 😉

    • It was a great movie overall, but my best friend and I were nearly jumping out of our seats going “Wait…WHAT ARE YOU DOING?!” when we started to notice things were blatantly different in regards to Eponine.

      And it’s nice to know I’m not the only one out there unskilled at the art of packing 😉

  3. Havenae seen Les Mis yet, but I’ll probably get around to doing that soon enough. Hopefulyl it’ll turn out as great as you made it sound! ^^

Comments make my day more sparkly!

