Not Everything That Sparkles Is Glitter

Hello my lovelies, I hope you’re all staying warm and cozy on this frosty, wet morning! I know it’s January and all but honestly, I don’t understand why it has to be this cold this far south, this morning I was actually longing for a pair of mittens…MITTENS I tell you. I don’t even think Florida imports mittens…but anyway, since it is so wretchedly cold, I urge you to go and grab a cup of hot cocoa.  I’ll be right here when you get back, and let’s face it: everything is better with chocolate!

Image From Google

Image From Google

Now as I was saying, it was freaking cold this morning — the kind of cold that seeps into your bones and makes you feel like you’re turning into one giant marble statue who will never again know human warmth — but I have to admit Nature did leave me quite a beautiful surprise to make up for making my toes feel as though they would fall off at the slightest touch: a back porch filled with thousands and thousands of twinkling, incandescent diamonds! It was breathtakingly beautiful. Y’all know how much I love anything that sparkles at me! I stood transfixed, staring googly-eyed at the sparkling lights, fully convinced that somehow someone had dumped a truck-full of silver glitter on our plain wooden porch in the middle of the night while we were all sleeping, like some kind and benevolent Glitter Fairy. It wasn’t until my mother snapped me out of my revelry with a warning not to slip on the ice that I realized my newfound sparklies were not the work of some bedazzled Glinda-esque being, but of Mother Nature herself. After a moment of chagrin for pondering the existence of a Glitter Fairy, I shrugged with a loopy smile and went back to gazing reverently. Suddenly the cold wasn’t so bad. It’s very rare we get anything resembling snow or ice here in my home of sunshine and sand (as I mentioned in post Mythic Snow), so seeing such unexpected beauty in a moment of real discomfort was a gift indeed. It made me feel grateful for being awake so early so I could be one of the few people to see the delicate latticework of new ice glisten and glow in the light of a luminous full moon.

Image From Google

Image From Google

It also made me think of all the times I’ve let my discomfort and general grumpiness blind me to the wonders of the world around me. I’m an extremely moody person, partially because I have an anxiety disorder, and partially because that’s just my personality (or my writer’s personality, as I like to call it lol). I’m snarky and proud of it. And I’ve always thought that being moody made me a better writer because it allowed me to feel the high’s and low’s that my characters experience, but I’ve also noticed that I tend to miss out sometimes on the small happiness’s presented to me because I’m too fixated on what’s bothering me at the moment. This is something about myself that I want to work on this year. With all my wonderful snarkiness and all my moods, I want to try to remember to look for the hidden sparklies in all situations. I don’t guarantee I’ll succeed every time, but as the great and wise Dory says “Just keep swimming!” Admit it, you’re singing the song now aren’t you?

*Just realized I still have no cocoa. Must rectify this. Be right back!*

Image From Google

Image From Google

Ahh chocolate-y goodness 😀 Chocolate is a sparkly you know.

Well what about you guy’s, any unexpected surprises or resolutions for the new year? Are you a fan of snow and the cold weather? Let me know! Oh and before you go: P. Sherman, 42 Wallaby Way, Sydney!

8 thoughts on “Not Everything That Sparkles Is Glitter

  1. There is a drought going on in my part of the world so there has been no winter except for one week of record breaking cold (but no rain). I still wear my gloves on cold dog walks at night but the days are warm (shorts and no socks weather.) I miss winter this year. I especially miss the fog that makes everything seem magical and the oak trees look like black lace against the mist. Sigh.

    As for unexpected surprises… I hope they are all good.

    • Thanks, I hope they’re all good too 😀
      Sorry to hear about the drought, hopefully it breaks soon and you get some much-needed rain! I love your description of trees looking like black lace by the way, totally gorgeous! And as for fog, my mom and I were just marveling at some beautiful misty fog overtop water this morning lol, go figure 😀

  2. I’m in the same boat as Juliette – it’s the middle of January and I was out in a tank top and shorts the other day, and still too hot! So crazy!

    I think that’s a great resolution, btw. 🙂

    • Lucky! Though I have to admit, we only get two months of cold weather a year so I guess it’s not so bad but it definitely makes you less ready for the cold lol. And thank you, I’ve already been working on my resolution, every time I get mad at something, I tell myself “Find the sparkly…Find.The.Sparkly!!!”

    • I admit, humidity sucks!!! But I guess I’m just used to it more so than the cold, I always feel like I don’t know what to do with the cold other than to sit there and shiver and pile on the blankets! I mean, we don’t have anything like snow to play in so really it’s just the wind biting you to the bone for two months lol 😀

Comments make my day more sparkly!

