A Handsome Stranger At Downton Abbey

 *Warning: this post may contain a spoiler or two regarding Edith and the fourth season of Downton Abbey, if you haven’t finished the season, read this post later!*

Hello my lovelies, I hope you had a delightful weekend! Mine was spent re-watching the first three seasons of Downton Abbey since I devoured the entire fourth season last weekend (a real post about that later!) and I was feeling nostalgic and a little bit sad about some of my favorite characters. I miss Matthew and Sybil, terribly…sigh. And while I was reveling in the joy of the early pre-death seasons, and reviewing my thoughts on the happenings of the fourth season, I came to a realization…a sudden idea gripped me most fervently and hasn’t let me go since…Edith needs herself a man, but not just any man…

She needs Richard Armitage!

Image From Google He made the four hours of North and South well worth while!

Image From Google
He made the four hours of North and South well worth while!

Most of you may know Richard from The Hobbit films, where he plays the sexy dwarf prince/king Thorin Oakenshield, but those lucky amongst you know him from BBC’s miniseries North and South, BBC’s Robin Hood, and BBC’s The Vicar of Dibley. Are you sensing a theme here? I know he’s busy breaking into American films and fame, but really, at this point, being on Downton Abbey is the fastest way of becoming famous over here! We love those characters and the actors who play them and I think Richard would make a stunning(ly attractive) addition to the all-star cast. And for those of you who are unfamiliar with the SEXINESS that is Mr. Armitage, go to youtube now and type in his name or any of the shows I listed above and just wait for your mouth to start watering and your heart to start palpitating. Or better yet, just watch this video and see what I mean.

It’s kind of shameless, but I’m okay with that 😀 And I freely admit that near the end of the video, I find myself thinking “Bite that glove Gisborne, bite it!”

But back to business, Edith, she kind of deserves him really, after putting up with her horrid love life for four consecutive seasons. I mean really besides the five or six one-episode disastrous flirtations, she’s really only had two serious love interests: Strallan and Gregson, while both her sisters have met and married their one true loves. The first, Strallan — the man I rooted for for three seasons — ditched her at the altar, the bastard, and the second, Gregson, literally disappeared after going to Germany in an effort to become a citizen so that he could divorce his lunatic wife and marry Edith, and hasn’t been seen since. So really, there seems to be a spot open for a new love interest until they decide what to do with Gregson. And considering Branson and Matthew (her sisters’ husbands) are just flat out amazing, I think it’s high time Edith was properly romanced by someone the audience can swoon over as well, and who better than Richard?! He’s gorgeous, he’s intense, bossy, arrogant, aloof, and just so damn perfect for this role! He’d definitely give Edith a romance to remember (not to mention the audience) and if they want to bring Gregson back, they can and then she’d have to chose between the two, maybe he’ll appear on her and Richard’s wedding day…right before they say I do

 

Image From Google. "Hello there Lord Armitage!"

Image From Google.
“Hello there Lord Armitage!”

 

Can you tell I’ve been fantasizing about this just a little?

I’m just saying it’s an idea.

What do y’all think, do you like Richard Armitage? What’s your favorite film of his? Would you mind if he visited Downton Abbey, or is there another actor you want to see in the Abbey? Let me know!

Comments make my day more sparkly!

