The Stuff Of Dreams…And Nightmares

Welcome to Writing and Writing Advice Week!

Welcome to Writing and Writing Advice Week!

Inspiration can come in many forms and varies for each writer and each story they set out to tell. It can be a snippet of a poem, a lyric from a song, or the way a color brightens in the morning light that sets our minds buzzing with insatiable curiosity. For me it’s usually music that strikes a chord, but quite a few of my plotlines have come to me in dreams and nightmares.

Some are beautiful and sad, with brilliant colors and emotions so strong I can still taste them after I wake. But others are so dark and frightening they leave me paralyzed for days after, too afraid to fully comprehend what I’ve seen, but unwilling to forget the story I’ve been told. One dream stands out vividly, and I think always will, with its pain, horror, and unimaginable sadness and unthinkable monsters — the likes of which, I’d never come across before. It pulled me in and refused to let me go, even when I woke up multiple times gasping for breath, I only had seconds before I fell back asleep and the story picked right back up where I left it.

There were people I knew in this dream and some places I recognized (markers for characters and settings for the novel, ie my best friend was the characters best friend, my love hers etc) and it was so real. Every moment felt as though it could be my last. There were brief moments of hope followed by crushing pain and always the need to stay alive…to just stay alive no matter what. It was me, but in so many ways it wasn’t, and when I finally woke I knew exactly whose story it was. The character and her story frightened me, intrigued me…and inspired me. I have many WIP’s and planned future stories that happily take up my time and thoughts, but this one is never far from my mind. I hear it’s pain in music and see it in colors that captivate me, and occasionally when, I’m lucky I dream of it again, though it’s never the same dream.

As much as it scared me, I understand now how incredibly helpful that first dream was, it made me understand…it forced me to see things I didn’t want to see. And now I find myself longing to dream it again, to see it as vividly as I did years ago, as it’s faded a bit with time, and there are certain things I don’t remember as clearly. But that is the way of dreams and of inspiration, it strikes white-hot for only a moment before slowly turning into a slightly blurry, haunting notion that tickles your mind and leaves you scrabbling to catch a wisp of it before it disappears forever.

What inspires you my lovelies? Has it ever been a dream or a nightmare?http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/02/26/daily-prompt-sweet-dreams/

11 thoughts on “The Stuff Of Dreams…And Nightmares

  1. Pingback: Until then… | Daily Prompt: Sweet Dreams | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

  2. Pingback: DREAMS OF ARMAGEDDON | hastywords

  3. Pingback: DREAM ASYLUM ANALYSIS | hastywords

  4. Pingback: No Idris Elba, I will not marry you! | Altared Egos

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This) | The Wandering Poet

  6. Pingback: El Dreamo | Edward Hotspur

  7. Pingback: I dreamed a dream of time … wait, it was something … hold on. | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  8. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This) | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  9. Pingback: Raging Inferno | Views Splash!

  10. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Sweet Dreams (Are Made Of This) | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  11. Pingback: Sweet Dreams | Alexia Jones

Comments make my day more sparkly!

