Grief and Equality

Hello my lovelies! Before I start I’d like to just say thank you to everyone who took the time to read, like, and comment on my last post, Snakeskin, but I’d like to give you all a MASSIVE thank you for not making fun of my artwork LOL! I was a bit nervous putting it up but now I think I may add some more original drawings to upcoming posts, simply because I know I have the best readers ever and y’all are far too nice to tell be how bad an artist I really am 😀 You guys rock.

Now I may not have a proper post up for the next few days (or I may just to distract myself, we’ll see how it goes) because my family is in the midst of one of the most heartbreaking challenges we’ve ever faced: the loss of my grandmother. It happened the night before last and I don’t know what to do with myself now that she isn’t right there anymore. It seems so unreal, like a dream I can’t wake up from and  I try to occupy myself so I won’t think about it but then I feel guilty, like I’m trying to forget about her. Even writing this post makes me feel like I’m not being respectful, even though I know she was always supportive of my writing. I feel lost, unsure, like I may drown but I keep fighting my way upward. My beautiful Mimi is the third grandparent and second grandmother I’ve lost since 2009 and all I know is that one never becomes immune to grief. It changes, subsides, flares, and crashes into me like an ocean wave and leaves me feeling helpless, weak, guilty for not being a better granddaughter and for not appreciating her every moment like I should have, and so very very scared for my grandfather, my mother and her siblings, and my entire brood of fellow grandchildren. We will never be the same, how can we be when she was such an integral part of our world? What will we be without her? What can we be without her?

The truth is  just don’t know, I don’t know what to do about anything right at the moment. So I push myself to keep busy, and in this busyness I discovered Emma Watson’s speech for the UN on the HeForShe campaign for gender equality. As a feminist myself, I was intrigued to hear what such a great actress had to say on the subject and I have to say her speech left me in tears. Wow, just wow. It is inspiring, honest, and real, everything I hoped to hear from one of my favorite celebrities. Her message is one that I think everyone needs to hear and so I invite you to listen to it now and if you do, please let me know what you thought! Thank you again my lovelies and know that I love you all 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “Grief and Equality

Comments make my day more sparkly!

