Once Upon a Time…

Hello again my lovelies! As I said two posts back, I recently discovered a new show to obsess over/totally fall in love with and it’s nothing short of sheer fairy tale perfection: Once Upon a Time! I first saw the show when it premiered and watched the first six episodes before I fell behind and quit — which isn’t unusual for me as I hate having to watch a show at a specific time every week, I’d rather just buy the seasons and binge watch whenever I want — but I loved what I saw and always wanted to catch back up, so for Christmas I grabbed the first three seasons on DVD and immersed myself in the wonders of Storybrooke Maine and the Enchanted Forest.

Image From Google. All Rights Belong To Artist.

Image From Google. All Rights Belong To Artist.

I was immediately re-hooked and delighted by the familiar fairy tale characters and the awesome twists and turns that altered the stories just enough that I was left guessing. At first I watched it alone (my mom and brother were less than thrilled at my movie choice), then six episode in, my mother sat down and started watching — which meant when we finished season one we had to re-watch it so she could catch up and see it from the beginning — then before we started season two, my brother decided he was interested so we had to wait for him to catch up. So all in all I think I watched season one three times before we all sat down together, all equally obsessed at this point, and devoured the second and third seasons, placing our bets on who was who and what was going to happen next. (I totally called who was Bae and who was Pinocchio by the way, amongst other things.)

It was one of the most fun two weeks I’ve had in a while, just sitting with my family and all of us just totally enjoying the show and having such a great time together. (One of the funniest moments for me was when I came home and found my twenty-something brother sitting on the couch watching the show and he just looked up at me with a completely serious worried expression and was like: “I don’t know how Snow and Charming are going to work this one out…”). With great humor and poignancy, Once Upon a Time cast a magical spell and as each episode passed, I fell further and further in love. The complexity and growth of the characters and the story is superb and the acting in spot on. And while the graphics may not be perfect, they have a whimsical charm that just sucks you in until you don’t care that things look a little different.

A few of my favorite elements include the Rumplestiltskin /Belle relationship as well as the whole Bae/Emma/Hook deal (oddly enough I love Emma with both men, separately of course lol, which is way out of character for me as I am a pick-and-stick-until-death type of person but I just love both of those relationships and how each character grows from experiencing love.), Regina and Robin Hood, and the many, many complicated parent/child relationships: Rumple & Bae, Regina/Henry/Emma, Cora & Regina, and of course Snow White and Prince Charming with their daughter Emma, the savior of Storybrooke and the Enchanted Forest.  Later on I’ll do a Favorite Moments List, but all in all the show is AMAZING and I can’t wait to see season four when it comes to DVD in August (so no spoilers please)!

Image From Google. All Rights Belong To The Artist.

Image From Google. All Rights Belong To The Artist.

If you’ve not seen the show I cannot recommend it enough, and it you have seen it what do you think? Do you have a favorite character/couple/plotline…let me know!!!

5 thoughts on “Once Upon a Time…

  1. I haven’t seen this show yet, but my sister has, and my mom lent me the whole first season. I’ve heard nothing but good stuff about it, so I’ll definitely have to check it out sometime. 🙂

  2. This show is fantastic, though I’ve only seen so far and I can’t actually remember where I stopped. I loved the first season especially, though. It was just so well written and the stories weaved together so wonderfully with great suspense! I got my family hooked to it too–my mom actually stole my dvds from me and watched ahead XD

    ~Jamie

  3. Pingback: Once Upon a Time Moments: Season One | moonstonemaiden

Comments make my day more sparkly!

