Musical Fate

Hello again my lovelies! I stumbled across a new song that I’ve fallen in love with over the past week and I thought I’d share it with you, but before I do let me just ask (for my fellow writers out there), have you ever found a song that just speaks to one of your characters so perfectly it’s kind of scary? Or even just fit a scene or emotion just spot-on and it thrills you but at the same time scares the crap out of you that there are others out there who must think like you (how else would they come us with these amazing songs? I mean they clearly must write them only for the sake of our characters right)? I have this happen often enough, I think my characters love music just as much as I do and they all have pretty specific tastes, and I like to think of it as musical fate.

I love discovering these wonderful songs, but once I do I tend to avoid watching the music videos because I don’t want to be influenced by what I’m seeing onscreen and because I already have my own video playing to these songs inside my head and there’s no way the recording artist has made a more moving video that what my characters are showing me at the moment. Now there are some exceptions to this rule, sometimes I see the video first (like in this case), but very, very rarely does something in the video match up to what I’m thinking.  In the case of my newest musical fate finding, I watched the video purely because Colin O’Donoghue (Hook from Once Upon a Time) was in it and really, need I say more? I was shocked to discover that not only did the song itself seem like it was something to be spoken aloud by my one of my female protagonists in a future WIP, but the video had small things in it that hinted at the story I had in my head, especially the flowers! It took my breath away!

So as a believer in fate and magic I have become firmly attached to this song by Christina Perri and it’s beautiful video, so take a moment if you will and just listen to the words of a hopeful young woman trying to breakthrough to a heartbroken man who’s trying his best not to fall in love again, but failing miserably (at least in my story anyway lol!)

So what do you think, it’s lovely right? Have you ever found a song or video that captures a small moment you have written or plan on writing? Isn’t it amazing and frightening, this little touch of fate?

7 thoughts on “Musical Fate

  1. Great post, and most definitely! ‘Near Light’- a track from Olafur Arnolds did just this to me… Scarily so, amazing. Awesome blog, I’ll be keen to follow it!

      • It’s an amazing process! Sometimes it’s surreal to find music driving a particular character- or even a plot!

      • I know! It’s a wonderful and terrifying thing, and I think that it means what we’re writing is something larger than ourselves, with universal themes that others understand with us! (If that makes any sense at all lol) 😀

  2. I’m involved in writing a story with a wonderful friend and one of the main characters we imagine with Colin’s face. This music video came out and it was just absolutely perfect. I was already in love with the song.
    But in answer to your question, it happens all the time, songs that are just perfect for the embodiment of a character or a scene. It’s wonderful when it happens.

    • That character will be gorgeous then!!! And I know right, there are moments when I would swear a piece of music was written JUST to go along with my writing lol! 😀
      (I replied to this two days ago, but I just noticed it didn’t post as a reply, but as a new comment lol!) 😀

  3. Pingback: Musical Obession…And A Dash Of Storybrooke | moonstonemaiden

Comments make my day more sparkly!

