Captive In The Beast’s Forest

“You’ve been kidnapped and given a choice: would you rather be stranded on an island, dropped into an unknown forest, or locked in a strange building?” — The Daily Prompt, Captive’s Choice.

As soon as I read the Daily Prompt this morning my lovelies, I was irresistibly drawn to the idea of being left to fend for myself in the wilds of a beautiful — yet frightening — forest, completely alone, with only the bounty of nature, the tingle of uncertainty, the prickle of fear, and the exquisite sexy allure of the unknown to accompany me.

To me, nothing is sexier than the unknown, the unexplored, the infinite what may be’s that lie ahead, filling us with hope and the desire to keep going, to keep living and dreaming no matter what.

Who knows…perhaps there is someone waiting for me in the forest. A prince under a beastly curse. A castle waiting to awaken. A future I’ve always dreamt about. Destiny. Fate. Love.

What if…

Image From Google

Image From Google

18 thoughts on “Captive In The Beast’s Forest

  1. Pingback: Taken | LOQUACITÉ

  2. Pingback: Choose Your Captivity | Edward Hotspur

  3. Pingback: Captive’s Choice | A mom's blog

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Captive’s Choice | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Captive’s Choice | BulgingButtons

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Captive’s Choice | The Wandering Poet

  7. Pingback: Captive’s choice | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  8. Pingback: “I’d rather be stuck in Disneyland” | I am Lynn

  9. Pingback: Miguel Learns To Like Himself (short fiction) | The Jittery Goat

  10. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Choice | Words 'n Pics...

  11. Love the picture, and very nicely said! And I totally agree – I would take the unknown forest over an island and definitely, definitely over a locked building. The forest has lots of possibilities, although unlike you I’m usually not a big fan of the unknown…great post!

  12. Vast forests are more or less every Scandinavian’s back yard, but that hasn’t stopped us from being enthralled by it for thousands of years. I would choose the forest alternative, not only because I’m familiar with that kind of environment but also because, as you elegantly described, it’s a place of mysticism, adventure and promise. I think I might see different things in the mist and among the trees though. There are the Tiny Grey (very tiny people-like creatures living underground), Disir, Troll, Huldre/skogsrå, and countless others. Odin’s presence is strong, the echoes of crowing ravens make the forests even more eerie. Then there is the soul of the forest itself. It’s a place where we can’t trust the reality of what we see.

    • Well if I was at all unsure of my choice, this description would have definitely sent me running towards the woods! There’s just something about a forest that calls to mind the magic of times long past 😀

Comments make my day more sparkly!

